Arrival and first weekend - Reisverslag uit Denpasar, Indonesië van Aukje Groenhout - WaarBenJij.nu Arrival and first weekend - Reisverslag uit Denpasar, Indonesië van Aukje Groenhout - WaarBenJij.nu

Arrival and first weekend

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Aukje

30 Augustus 2015 | Indonesië, Denpasar

28 september 2015
Finally after waiting for such a long time, I finally arrived on the beautiful Island Bali, Indonesia. Before I came here I travelled to Singapore for a few days so I was actually a bit tired. Nevertheless, when I arrived we were picked up by a Stenden driver who would bring us to our hotel. The expectations were a 30 min drive but because of the traffic it took around an hour or more.
My first notice was about the such a chaotic traffic and the driver was driving like crazy, I never experienced that before. Between cars, to the left to the right and soo many scooters.

When arriving at the hotel I couldn't wait to enter my room and discover the hotel and swimming pool. On the first sight it seemed really nice and clean so that was a positive point. The rooms are modern, clean and a daily cleaning service.

However, concerning the location of our hotel, it is in Denpasar and it is in a local area near the university. I directly arranged a scooter because I didn't want to be dependent of the taxi's all the time. They know you are a foreigner and will definitely make use of that.

Let's see what this journey will bring


29/30 august 201, First weekend
My first weekend in Bali, didn’t want to loose any time, so even though I was tired, I decided to discover the roads in the surrounding area. With the taxi, a blue bird (are “reliable”) we went to the shopping centres. Of course, it is not how you expect it as in the Netherlands like the shopping streets.

This weekend was central to discover the surroundings of the hotel area and the nearby warungs (cheap stand with food). I didn’t want to be the first when it came to trying out the street food because of food poisoning. Therefor, I waited till others had tried it.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Aukje

This blog will take you through my journey in Asia and will mainly focus on my personal development and experiences along the road. I will study abroad for 20 weeks in total, starting off with the first 10 weeks in Bali, Indonesia, continuing and finishing in Bangkok, Thailand. Originally I am from the Netherlands with an Indonesian background, I started studying 3 years ago in the Netherlands at the Stenden University in Leeuwarden. The study is called IBMS, International Business and Management Studies and therefor I need to study at least a half year abroad to develop my international competencies. Moreover, I choose these two locations because I would like to gain more knowledge about the Asian culture, beliefs, habits etc. and because of the arranged facilities Stenden offers. I will follow the minor Event Management 1 in Bali which is mostly focussing on the theoretical part of learning. At last, I will end my minor in Bangkok, Event Management 2 which will cover the practical parts of learning.

Actief sinds 09 Okt. 2015
Verslag gelezen: 137
Totaal aantal bezoekers 2241

Voorgaande reizen:

28 Augustus 2015 - 07 November 2015

My first trip

Landen bezocht: